IGA Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees Members


Frances Griffiths 

Chair of the Board of Trustees, member of the Executive Committee, Finance Committee and Membership Working Party

Frances began her career as a teacher in the UK, moving to Africa where she spent seven years as a tutor and examiner in adult education. On return to the UK she moved into special educational needs and management in education as an Associate Lecturer with the Open University and Lead Head of a School Consortia. She has experience of working with patients with complex needs in the NHS where she was a collaborator on a three year research project. She is currently a Group Analyst in private practice, seeing people in groups and individually; executive coach, clinical supervisor and teacher on all aspects of the clinical training at the IGA. She is a Group Workshop Leader with the Institute of Psychosexual Medicine (IPM), serves on the Membership Committee of the Group Analytic Society International and is a member of the American Group Psychotherapy Association.

Anne Reilly

Vice-Chair of the Board, member of the Executive Committee, Trustee Representative on the Professional Membership Committee

Anne Reilly works as a consultant psychotherapist in an Integrated Psychological Therapy (IPT) service within a CMHT in Berkshire. Prior to her psychotherapy and a Group analytical training Anne worked as a teacher and trainer within schools and universities. Anne maintains an interest in education, teaching on the Oxford foundation programme, running workshops and offering supervision. She has a specialist interest and training in working with people with eating disorders and has published a number of papers within this arena.

Sally Penrose 

(Lay Trustee) Acting Honorary Treasurer and member of the Executive Committee, Trustee Representative on the Ethics Committee and member of the Membership Working Party

Sally has wide experience of the leadership and governance of charities, most recently as chief executive of two health charities and a professional membership association. In addition, she has expertise in marketing and communications gained in the book publishing industry and alumni relations at a leading business school.

Ivor Antao 

Member of the Executive Committee, UKCP Membership Representative, Member of British Psychoanalytic Council (BPC) integration working party and Board Link with tIGA

After a fifteen-year career as a psychiatric social worker, including statutory work under the Mental Health Act as a Senior Practitioner, Ivor joined the NHS as a psychotherapist after qualifying at the IGA in 1995. He retired from the NHS as a Consultant Adult Psychotherapist in 2011 and has been in private practice since. Having been previously based in Aylesbury, and then Leicester, Ivor has now relocated to Haywards Heath in West Sussex.

IGA experience 1996 – present: Convenor, Group Conductor and Seminar Leader on the Oxford Introductory Course in Group Analysis, 1996 - 2003; Curriculum Committee 1996 - 2006 (Chair from 2003 - 2006); Pre-Qualifying Courses Sub-Committee 1996 - 1999; Panel of Readers, 1998 – 2002; QC Tutor, 1998 – present; Served on several Admission Panels and one Ethics Committee Panel; Training and Academic Policy Committee (TAPC), 2003 – 2006; TAPC, later the Training Development Committee (as FC Panel Chair), Dec 2010- Jan 2012; Board of Trustees, 2013 – present.

Dick Blackwell     

Trustee Representative on the Clinical Services Committee

Sally Mitchison 

IGA Delegate for EGATIN and Chair of the Training Group Analyst Working Party

Dr Sally Mitchison is a retired psychiatrist and medical psychotherapist who established and ran the NHS psychotherapy service in Sunderland from 1996 to 2013.  She trained as a group analyst in Manchester, qualifying in 1991.  She is an approved supervisor for the Institute and a Training Group Analyst. She established the Sunderland Introductory Course in Group Analysis and has held several educational roles with the Institute including Chair of the Panel of Readers from 2004 – 2008.  

Currently Sally convenes the large group in Edinburgh for QMMAC and leads training seminars at IGA Foundation Courses in the Northeast and in York and, shortly, for the Manchester Qualifying Course.  She was elected to the Board of Trustees of the Institute in November 2015 and is also the Institute’s representative on EGATIN.

Christine Oliver 

Member of the Membership Working Party

Christine Oliver (PhD) is Consultant Family Therapist and Group Analyst for East London Foundation Trust and a psychotherapist, supervisor and organisational consultant in private practice.  She also co-directs the MSc in Systemic Leadership and Organisational Development at the University of Bedfordshire.  A special interest is in the development of methodologies for structuring dialogue to engender reflexive practice in the work place.  She provides systemic leadership and management training and consultancy for public, private and not for profit organisations locally and globally; more recently developing extensive Systemic Leadership programmes for senior leaders in two local authorities.  She has contributed to the development of systemic theory and practice through many published papers and through two books: Reflexive Inquiry, published by Karnac, London (2005) and Complexity, Relationships and Strange Loops, published by the MHA Institute, Canada (2003).

Francesca Ryan 

Board link to Join the Debate

As well as a long career as an actor (including RSC, RNT and many TV credits), Francesca teaches transferable performance skills for impact and communications training. She works in both public and private sectors, with extensive experience of advanced clinical communications for the NHS. She has a research degree from the University of Essex, and a Diploma in Facilitation and Conflict Resolution from the NAOS Institute in conjunction with The Forgiveness Project. Her teaching work includes Associate Lecturer in Theatre Studies in the UK, and Shakespeare Studies in the USA.

Jo Joyce 

Board link with the NHS

Graham Mackay 


Graham originally trained as a psychiatric nurse and has worked in the NHS for the last 28 years, with a particular interest in therapeutic community, personality disorders and the application of group analytic principles in the challenging medium of the NHS to promote the therapeutic potential of groups. He qualified as a group analyst at Turvey and is a UKCP approved qualified supervisor, having completed the Institute of Group Analysis Diploma in Supervision course. He is now the convenor for the Birmingham Foundation Course in Group Analysis. He currently works full time as a group analytic psychotherapist in the specialist psychotherapies service in Birmingham & Solihull mental health foundation trust. He has recently taken on the role of the Trust Lead for Clinical Supervision.

Marlene Spero    





Useful documents



© 2017 Institute of Group Analysis | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Contact

The IGA is a charity registered in England and Wales (280942), and in Scotland (SC040468); and is a company registered in England and Wales 01499655